MITOS industrial X-rays

Iterative Reconstruction Software. X-AID.

Unsurpassed Image quality.
Higher sample throughput.
Maximum of flexibility.

X-AID: Technology-leading software for iterative CT reconstruction

X-AID is a highly-efficient software for fast 3D reconstructions, artefact corrections and image quality enhancements of industrial CT data. Its unique module for iterative reconstruction enables to reduce scanning time and to relax requirements on the data acquisition. The easy-to-use interface and the semi-automated workflow guarantee optimum imaging results without knowledge about CT reconstruction.

Your advantages using X-AID

Easy to use

X-AID is easy to use. You do not require knowledge about image reconstruction and the complex algorithms to obtain optimum results.

Short reconstructions

X-AID ensures shortest reconstruction times for large data sizes. Please check the technical details for further information.

Reduction of artefacts

X-AID is able to reduce various kinds of reconstruction artefacts like metal artefacts, beam-starvation artefacts or motion artefacts.

Superior image quality

X-AID provides superior image quality for low photon statistics and incomplete projection data (undersampling and limited angle).

Increase of scanner throughput

X-AID and its unique iterative reconstruction module enable to increase scanner throughput while preserving the image quality.

Independent from CT hardware

X-AID runs independently from your CT hardware. It can be used as stand-alone version or it can be integrated into existing workflows.

X-AID – Modules and technical details

X-AID supports data-reading routines for various X-ray CT systems and additionally features a raw data import routine. If you have a CT system or setup, which is not yet supported, we will customize that for you. Contact us if you would like to know more.
An exact centershift correction is crucial for the quality of the reconstructed volume. Already a small deviation from the correct value leads to a clearly noticeable unsharpness of the edges. We have developed an unique centershift correction method which is not only very accurate but also extremely robust against noise and artefacts in the images.
Several drifts, for example of the sample, can occur in particular during long CT measurements due to instabilities or an imperfect sample mounting. These drifts cause unsharp or even unusable 3D reconstructions and cannot be compensated by the centershift correction. X-AID contains a powerful module to correct for these kind of motion artefacts and obviates the need for a repetition scan of the sample. image
CT scanners are usually equipped with polychromatic X-ray sources that emit X-ray photons within a broad energy range. Conventional reconstruction techniques, however, assume a monochromatic X-ray source. In the final reconstruction, this effect often leads to strong beam-hardening cupping artefacts and metal artefacts like streaks behind high-absorbing materials. X-AID features a variety of correction algorithms for these kind of artefacts. image
Pixel inconsistencies of the X-ray detector lead to ring-artefacts which degrade the quality of the reconstructed volume and often complicate the correct analysis of the data. X-AID is equipped with a ring-correction module to correct for these artefacts.
X-AID's conventional FDK reconstruction for the generation of 3D volumes is implemented on multi-GPU and achieves fast reconstructions even for large data sizes. The reconstruction of region-of-interest scans is easily possible with X-AID.

Performance benchmarks 2 GPU Titan X 4 GPU Titan X
1601 x 1024 x 1024 12 sec. 10 sec.
3217 x 2048 x 2048 170 sec. 48 sec.
The efficient multi-GPU-based module for iterative CT reconstruction delivers superior image quality with comparably short reconstruction times. The semi-automated reconstruction workflow requires no knowledge about iterative reconstruction to obtain best reconstruction results. That way X-AID makes the manifold advantages of iterative reconstruction for the first time directly accessible to CT users:

  • Superior image quality with low photon statistics
  • Increase of scanner throughput
  • Superior image quality for incomplete data
  • Flexible acquisition trajectories
  • Economical operation of scanner hardware
  • Reduction of various artefacts

Performance benchmarks 2 GPU Titan X 4 GPU Titan X
1601 x 1024 x 1024 24 min. 12 min.
3217 x 2048 x 2048 35 min.

image
X-AID comes with a variety of edge-preserving and non-edge preserving image filters to reduce the noise in the reconstructed volume.
The reconstruction results can be directly displayed within X-AID. Any cross-section through the 3D volume can quickly be visualized to find the best views of critical regions and measure specific details.

Interested?

X-AID improves your CT reconstruction results and runs independently from your CT hardware as stand-alone software. X-AID is further available as C/C++ API and as Python module for an easy integration into existing software solutions.

MITOS industrielle Roentgenbildgebung

Iterative CT Bildrekonstruktion. X-AID.

Verbesserte Bildqualität.
Erhöhter Probendurchsatz.
Maximale Flexibilität.

X-AID: Leistungsstarke Software für iterative CT Rekonstruktion

X-AID ist eine leistungsstarke Software für schnelle 3D Rekonstruktionen und Artefaktkorrekturen industrieller CT Daten. Das einzigartige Modul für iterative Rekonsstruktion ermöglicht eine Reduzierung der Messzeit und der Anforderungen an die Datenaufnahme. Die bedienerfreundliche Oberfläche und der halbautomatisierte Workflow garantieren optimale Bildergebnisse ohne Vorkenntnisse in der CT Rekonstruktion.

Ihre Vorteile von X-AID

Einfache Handhabung

X-AID erlaubt es auch ohne spezielle Vorkenntnisse über CT Rekonstruktion optimale Bildergebnisse zu erhalten.

Kurze Rekonstruktionszeiten

X-AID garantiert schnelle Rekonstruktionszeiten für große Datensätze. Typische Zeiten finden Sie bei den technischen Details.

Reduzierte Bildartefakte

X-AID verfügt über leistungsstarke Werkzeuge für die Korrektur von Metall-, Beam-Starvation- und Bewegungsartefakten.

Erstklassige Bildqualität

X-AID liefert höchste Bildqualität auch bei niedriger Photonenstatistik und bei unvollständigen Projektionsdaten.

Höherer Probendurchsatz

X-AID und das einzigartige Modul für iterative Rekonstruktion erlauben größere Durchsatzmengen bei gleichbleibender Bildqualität.

Flexibler Einsatz

X-AID ist entweder als eigenständige Anwendung einsetzbar oder kann in bestehende Software und Workflows integriert werden.

X-AID – Module und technische Details

X-AID bietet Einleseroutinen für die Daten verschiedenster CT Gerätehersteller und eine zusätzliche Einleseoption für Rohdaten. Falls Sie ein CT System nutzen, welches bisher nicht von X-AID unterstützt wird, können wir eine entsprechende Einleseroutine für Sie integrieren. Kontaktieren Sie uns für weitere Informationen.
Eine exakte Korrektur des Centershifts ist ein entscheidender Faktor für die Qualität des rekonstruierten 3D Datenvolumens. Bereits kleine Abweichungen vom optimalen Korrekturwert führen zu klar erkennbaren Unschärfen, z.B. bei Kanten. Unser automatisiertes und robustes Verfahren zur Korrektur des Centershifts ist selbst bei hohem Rauschen, Bildartefakten und Teilbereichsmessungen sehr präzise.
Vor allem bei langen Messungen können diverse Instabilitäten wie Bewegungen der Probe, des Probenhalters oder des Quellflecks oftmals nicht verhindert werden. Diese Bewegungen führen zu unscharfen 3D Rekonstruktionen bishin zu völlig unbrauchbaren Datensätzen und können nicht durch eine Centershift Korrektur beseitigt werden. X-AID besitzt ein leistungsstarkes Modul für die Korrektur von Bewegungsartefakten, welches in vielen Fällen eine Wiederholungsmessung überflüssig macht. Korrektur von Bewegungen der Probe in der Roentgenmikroskopie mit X-AID
CT Systeme werden üblicherweise mit polychromatischen Röntgenquellen betrieben, welche eine breites Sprektrum an Röntgenenergien liefern. Da gewöhnliche Algorithmen für die Bildrekonstruktion von einer mono-energetischen Röntgenstrahlung ausgehen, kommt es häufig zu Artefakten durch Strahlaufhärtung und hoch-absorbierende Materialien wie Metall. X-AID liefert veschiedene Korrekturmöglichkeiten für diese Artefakte. X-AIDs Korrektur von Metall-Artefakten fuer die industrielle Computertomographie
Pixelfehler des Röntgendetektors verursachen sogenannte Ringartefakte im rekonstruierten 3D Volumen, welche den Bildeindruck erheblich beeinträchtigen können. Eine Entfernung dieser Ringe ist in X-AID integriert.
X-AID's konventionelle FDK Rekonstruktion zur Erzeugung von 3D Volumen ist optimal für Multi-GPU Rechner implementiert und erzielt auch bei großen Datensätzen schnelle Rekonstruktionsergebnisse. Die Rekonstruktion von Teilchbereichsmessungen ist mit X-AID problemlos möglich.

Rekonstruktionszeiten 2 GPU Titan X 4 GPU Titan X
1601 x 1024 x 1024 12 s 10 s
3217 x 2048 x 2048 170 s 48 s
Das effiziente Multi-GPU-basierte Modul für iterative CT Rekonstruktion liefert höchste Bildqualität bei vergleichsweise kurzen Rekonstruktionszeiten. Der Rekonstruktionsprozess ist teilautomatisiert und benötigt kein Vorwissen über iterative Rekonstruktionsalgorithmen, um beste Bildergebnisse erzielen zu können. Hierdurch werden die vielfältigen Vorteile der iterativen Rekonstruktion erstmals für CT Anwender leicht zugänglich:

  • Höchste Bildqualität bei niedriger Photonenstatistik
  • Steigerung des Probendurchsatzes
  • Verbesserte Bildqualität bei unvollständigen Daten
  • Flexible Aufnahmetrajektorien
  • Ökonomische Nutzung des CT Systems
  • Reduktion verschiedener Artefakte

Rekonstruktionszeiten 2 GPU Titan X 4 GPU Titan X
1601 x 1024 x 1024 24 min. 12 min.
3217 x 2048 x 2048 35 min.

Weniger Rauschen in der industriellen CT mit der iterativen Rekonstruktion von X-AID
X-AID enthält eine Reihe verschiedener Filter zur Bildnachbearbeitung, wodurch u.a. das Rauschen bei gleichbleibender Kantenschärfe reduziert werden kann.
Die Rekonstruktionsergebnisse können direkt in X-AID gesichtet werden. Die Darstellung beliebig orientierter Querschnitte durch das 3D Volumen ermöglicht eine optimale Betrachtung kritischer Regionen und eine leichte Vermessung von Details.

Interesse?

X-AID verbessert Ihre CT Rekonstruktionsergebnisse und läuft als eigenständige Anwendung unabhängig von Ihrem CT System. X-AID kann zudem als C/C++ API oder als Python Modul in bestehende Softwarelösungen integriert werden.